Shopno Dekhbo Bole (‘Cause I want to dream) by Mousumi Bhowmik [Bengali Song]

During the wild wild era of urban-folk-songs in Calcutta (90’s), apart from Sumon and Anjan, few other singers grabbed my attention. One of them is Mousumi Bhowmik. I really liked her album ‘Tumio Chil Hou’ (You become an eagle too). That’s a long time back. I left Calcutta, living in Singapore for last 8 years. Bengali song trend also changed from urban-folk songs to band music, but I still carry on the nostalgia in my iPod. Few days back I found this new (at least new to me) song by Mousumi – ‘Shopno Dekhbo Bole’ (‘Cause I want to dream) and got mesmerized by it!

“Shopno Dekhbo Bole” (‘Cause I want to dream)

by Mousumi Bhowmik

[odeo=http://odeo.com/audio/19197183/view]

Here goes a real crappy, quick (almost literal) translation [please don’t hate me]

I’ve heard…that day, you went to touch the blue horizon
riding the waves

I’ve heard…that day, you walked alongside the salty shoreline
for miles after miles

I’ve never went to sea
never glided on blues
never glanced at the wings of a seagull

Next time, when you’ll go to the sea
will you take me along?

Will you?

I’ve heard…that day you, you and you
in an ensemble, discussed many complex conundrums
and unspoken words

Why this eternal rat-race?
Why endless series of monologues?

Living on, this self centered life
if there is no love
only empty loneliness

Where can I get a dollop of peace?

Where can I?

I’ve heard…that you still get dreams
still write stories
chant music from bottom of your soul

Saga of human existence
still makes you think

Your love blossom like a rose

Today I am here at your doorstep
with this faithless soul, open arms
and bending knees…

Only emptiness in deep of my eyes,
there are no dreams in my nights

To dream I opened my eyes
to dream I opened my arms
towards you

Bengali Lyrics:

Ami shunechhi shedin tumi shagorer dheu-e chepe
Neel jol digonto chhuye eshechho
Ami shunechhi shedin naki nona bali teer dhore bohudur bohudur hete eshechho ..
Ami kokhono jaini jol-e
kokhono bhashini neel-e
Kokhono rakhini chokh dana mela gangchil-e
Abar jedin tumi shomudrosnan-e jaabe,
Amakeo shathe niyo … nebe to amay?
bolo … nebe to amay?
Ami shunechhi shedin naki tumi, tumi, tumi mile
Tomra shodolbole shobha korechhile –
Ar shedin tomra naki onek jotil dhadha,
Na bola onek kotha, kotha tulechhile
Kano shudhu chhute chhute chola,
Ak-i ak-i kotha bola,
Nijer jonno bacha nijeke niye?
Jodi bhalobasha naai thake,
Shudhu aka aka laage,
Kothay shanti pabo … kothay giye?
bolo … kothay giye?

Ami shunechhi tomra naki akhono shopno dekho,
Akhono golpo lekho,
Gaan gaao pran bhore
Manusher bachamora akhono bhabiye tole,
tomader bhalobasha akhono golap-e phote
Astha harano ei mon niye ami aaj
Tomader kachhe eshe du haat petechhi
Ami du chokher gohbor-e shunnota dekhi shudhu
Raat ghum-e ami kono shopne dekhi na …
Tai shopno dekhbo bole .. ami du chokh petechhi
Tai tomader kachhe eshe .. ami du haat petechhi
Tai shopno dekhbo bole .. ami du chokh petechhi

16 thoughts on “Shopno Dekhbo Bole (‘Cause I want to dream) by Mousumi Bhowmik [Bengali Song]

  1. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Horde!!!

  2. I was looking for the lyrics of this song when I cam across your blog… beautiful song, can you also include the bengali lyrics?

    Nice effort with the lyrics,

    Best,

    Payel 🙂

  3. wonderful song i recently heard…i know l’l Bengali, but the mode of singing itself says so much…
    thnx 4 de translation 2 understand it throughly…

  4. I googled for this songs lyrics. Here it is. Absolutely beautiful song..Heard it so many times..Thanks for the lyrics and translation.

Leave a comment