In dino dil mera from Life in a metro

Alvida was fabulous and my first favorite from “Life in a Metro”. But in dinon, I’m loving “In dinon dil mera” 😀 . IMO this song left more lasting impact than the rest of the songs of the movie. Lyrics by Syed Quadri are beautifully done with simple words.

Just when I was wondering if Pritam went plagiarism-free this time, I saw on ITWOFS (Inspirations in Indian Film Songs!) that he used a line “Do dilon ki ijazat, mera naam hai mohobbat” from Pakistani singer Waqar Ali’s ‘Mera naam hai mohabbat’….Old habits die hard. 😉

Well it will be harsh to say that it is a plagiarized song, considering that the similarity is just in one line and rest of the composition is his own and awesome.

Quoting from ITWOFS

Considering the similarity with the use of the words ‘Ijazat’ and ‘Mohobbat’, this interview with Pritam seems significant in nailing the culprit! Pritam says, “Anurag (Basu, Director of Metro) was humming something like ‘ijazat’ and ‘mohabbat’ and said that he wanted a song with those words. Just for fun (sic) sake I made the ‘mukhda’ and ‘antara’ and Anurag liked it…..!”. So, was Anurag humming Waqar’s song?

Listen to In dino | Mera naam hai mohobbat

Soham Chakraborty is one lucky newcomer singer who got a chart-topping number in just his second song. Earlier too, Pritam gave breaks to Zubeen, James, etc. Thanks to Pritam, we get to hear new refreshing voice in a music industry infested by Himmy’s vocal who thinks that anything in higher scales is soulful and Sufiesque.

Enjoy the lyrics and the video once again

In dino, dil mera, mujhse hai keh raha
tu khwaab saja, tu ji le jara
hai tujhe bhi ijaazat, karle tu bhi mohabbat


Berang si hai badi zindagi kuchh rang to bharoon
main apani tanhaayi ke waaste abb kuchh toh karoon
jab mile thodi fursat, mujhse karle muhabbat
hai tujhe bhi ijaazat, karle tu bhi muhabbat

Usako chhupaakar main sabse kabhi le chaloon kahin door…
aankhon ke pyaalon kse pita rahoon usake chehre ka noor
iss jamaane se chhupakar, puri karloon main hasrat
hai tujhe bhi ijaazat, karle tu bhi muhabbat

 

18 thoughts on “In dino dil mera from Life in a metro

  1. Tinker – I believe ‘Taro Baap’ meant that the uncanny resemblance of the lyrics is not Pritam’s fault – and which is somehow truth.
    Saying that, Mr. ‘Taro Baap’ – please use a valid email ID and little better user name next time please. We can expect that much decency from a UCR guy – right?
    Otherwise unfortunately we will have to delete your comments! 🙂

  2. If at all Pritam has not copied, how is the tune of the particular line exactly the same. Seems like Pritam and the lyricist — ki mili bhagat hai. 😀 Anyway, it doesn’t matter much coz it’s just a line and rest of the composition is so good.

  3. Hi,
    Is it possible to have the lyrics translated ?
    Is it urdu or hindi ?

    In dino, dil mera, mujhse hai keh raha
    tu khwaab saja, tu ji le jara
    hai tujhe bhi ijaazat, karle tu bhi mohabbat

    Berang si hai badi zindagi kuchh rang to bharoon
    main apani tanhaayi ke waaste abb kuchh toh karoon
    jab mile thodi fursat, mujhse karle muhabbat
    hai tujhe bhi ijaazat, karle tu bhi muhabbat

    Usako chhupaakar main sabse kabhi le chaloon kahin door…
    aankhon ke pyaalon kse pita rahoon usake chehre ka noor
    iss jamaane se chhupakar, puri karloon main hasrat
    hai tujhe bhi ijaazat, karle tu bhi muhabbat

  4. I won’t do poetic translation coz I can’t 🙂

    These days my heart has been telling me…
    To dream, to live
    You also have the right, you should also fall in love

    That I should bring some color into my colorless life
    For the sake of my loneliness I should do something
    If I get some free time, I should love myself
    You also have the right, you should also fall in love

    (this para is kinda stupid in english !)
    I should take her/him somewhere far by hiding her/him from everyone
    With the urn of my eyes I should drink the light of her/his face (basically I should just stare at her/him and enjoy her/his beauty)
    By keeping her/him away from this world, I should fulfilll my wishes
    You also have the right, you should also fall in love…

    🙂

  5. There are several ways to look at this song…your heart telling you to love your heart (or yourself) or your heart telling you to love another person 🙂

  6. This song has Tune like a sufish song.. the rythm is a gypsy veriation… the orchestration is like a modern songs… Perticularly it has guitaring full of cromatic notes ( that is supported well in country rock.. with a similarity to the ‘taan’s that are character of a classical based indian folk groove !!
    So, Technically it is really a new creation – Well done Pritam

  7. I just like this song and the lyrics and the music go very well together to steal the heart. Was searching for this song and found your entry. Very well written 🙂

  8. hi!
    this song has a lot of depth & feelings!
    everytime i hear this song i feel refreshed.
    anyone can just fall in love with this song itself!!!

  9. I’ve just listened to this and LOVE this song – yes it’s a bit Sufi-esque, the guitar riffs suit the classical melody very well, but the background music at the ending could be better. Thanks Adity for trying to translate the song for non-Hindi speakers like me..
    Now what I need is a good backing track (vocals removed) for this song!
    Can any serious classical buffs tell me the raga for this song? It does remind me a little of a song from an old Malayalam film “Dwani”, perhaps it’s the same raga, feels like it anyway.

Leave a comment