Shattered Still Life

Martin Klimas takes ’still life’ pictures of ceramic figures, taken as they’re being destroyed! From The Morning Life

Martin Klimas destroys a lot of clay to make his art. Combining the silence of Eadweard Muybridge’s horse pictures with the association-rich composition of a still life, Klimas breaks recognizable objects so they become something else, and stops us just at the moment of transformation.

03b

The aspect of destroying is not the most important one in my work. Let’s say it is a catalyst to unleash and study this transformation. The hardest part of my work is to smash so many figurines until I find one that truly is showing me something new. I am in that sense a sculptor, but I have only a 5000th of a second to build my sculpture.

Can shattered real-life be an art-form too?

One thought on “Shattered Still Life

Leave a Reply

