Dreamer by Ozzy Osbourne

Depending on my mood, I like some songs better than others. Today, this song happens to catch my attention. I like the laid-back and eerie – feel of Ozzy’ s voice in this song.

“Dreamer” is a song about peace and love with simple but touching lyrics. This is about Ozzy’s vision of a better and safer world for his children devoid of all evils and hatreds. Personally I feel it’s about how one just dreams away of a better life but doesn’t actually do anything (like me 😉 ). This song was considered for releasing only after the terrorist acts of September 11 2001, though it was penned before.

I didn’t understand one particular line –

“After all there’s just the two of us
And here we are still fighting for our lives…”

But found the explanation on wikipedia:

Ozzy compares this to John Lennon’s “Imagine,” which contains the line, “You might say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.” The Beatles were a big influence on Ozzy, as they also became stars after growing up in a poor section of England.

Another reference to John Lennon is the line “After all, there’s only just the two of us.” This is an acknowledgment of the Beatles song “Two of Us.” Although Paul McCartney wrote it to his wife Linda, it has since become accepted as a description of his relationship to close friend Lennon, and was even used as the title to a VH1 TV-movie about them. (thanks, Greg – Calgary, United States)

Song Info:

Album: Down to Earth (2001)
Genre: Heavy Metal
Writer(s): Ozzy Osbourne, Marti Frederiksen, Mick Jones

Video from youtube:

Lyrics:

Gazing through the window at the world outside
Wondering will mother earth survive
Hoping that mankind will stop abusing her, sometime

After all there’s only just the two of us
And here we are still fighting for our lives
Watching all of history repeat itself, time after time

I’m just a dreamer, I dream my life away
I’m just a dreamer, who dreams of better days

I watch the sun go down like everyone of us
I’m hoping that the dawn will bring a sign
A better place for those who will come after us, this time

I’m just a dreamer, I dream my life away, oh yeah
I’m just a dreamer, who dreams of better days

Your higher power may be God or Jesus Christ
It doesn’t really matter much to me
Without each others help there ain’t no hope for us
I’m living in a dream, a fantasy
Oh yeah, yeah, yeah

If only we could all just find serenity
It would be nice if we could live as one
When will all this anger, hate, and bigotry be gone?

I’m just a dreamer, I dream my life away, today
I’m just a dreamer, who dreams of better days, ok
I’m just a dreamer, who’s searching for the way, today
I’m just a dreamer, dreaming my life away
Oh yeah, yeah, yeah

Reference:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dreamer_%28song%29


Leave a Reply

